Monday , 18 November 2019

Luka Modric Ended Ronaldo-Messi 10 Years of Dominance By Winning 2018 Ballon d’Or

It was Kaka who won the Ballon exactly 10 years ago and since then Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi dominated the Ballon d’Or for a decade. The Croatian captain Luka Modric has now ended their era as he has added another trophy this year which is Ballon d’Or. This is the 5th major trophy won by Luka Modric this year including the precious UEFA Champions League.

Luka Modric Wins 2018 Ballon d’Or Award

The journey of winning trophies this year began with UEFA Champions League under the management of Zinedine Zidane. He was one of the most used and crucial players by Zidane during the Champions League campaign.

Luka Modric with Ballon dor trophy

Later, Croatia did the almost impossible in the 21st edition of FIFA World Cup in Russia. Modric’s stunning performance against Argentina shocked the whole world for which he was award as the man of the match. He also grabbed the Golden Ball award of 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Modric also lifted the UEFA Best Player of the Year and Best FIFA Men’s Player of the year award before winning the Ballon d’Or award.

List of All Winners

  • Ballon d’Or: Luka Modric [Croatia]
  • Ballon d’Or Feminin: Ada Hegerberg [Norway]
  • Kopa Trophy: Kylian Mbappe [France]

Hegerberg, Modric and Mbappe with trophies

Two new awards were introduced this time. The first one is Ballon d’Or Feminin and the second is Kopa Trophy. Ballon d’Or Feminin honors the best female association player of the year and Kopa Trophy honors the best promising player under the age of 21. Norweign Ada Hegerberg won the first Ballon d’Or Feminin award and Kylian Mbappe became the first player to win Kopa Trophy.

Ballon d’Or 2018 by Ranks

Modric grabbed the award with a total of 753 points against Ronaldo’s 478 points who stood at the second spot. World Cup winner Antonie Griezmann was at the third spot with 414. Check out the full list.

Rank Player Nation Club[s] Points
1 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid 753
2 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid, Juventus 478
3 Antoine Griezmann France Atletico Madrid 414
4 Kylian Mbappe France PSG 347
5 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 280
6 Mohamed Salah Egypt Liverpool 188
7 Raphael Varane France Real Madrid 121
8 Eden Hazard Belgium Chelsea 119
9 Kevin De Bruyne Belgium Manchester City 29
10 Harry Kane England Tottenham 25
11 N’Golo Kante France Chelsea 24
12 Neymar Brazil PSG 19
13 Luis Suarez Uruguay Barcelona 17
14 Thibaut Courtois Belgium Chelsea, Real Madrid 12
15 Paul Pogba France Manchester United 9
16 Sergio Aguero Argentina Manchester City 7
17 Gareth Bale Wales Real Madrid 6
17 Karim Benzema France Real Madrid 6
19 Roberto Firmino Brazil Liverpool 4
19 Ivan Rakitic Croatia Barcelona 4
19 Sergio Ramos Spain Real Madrid 4
22 Edinson Cavani Uruguay PSG 3
22 Sadio Mane Senegal Liverpool 3
22 Marcelo Brazil Real Madrid 3
25 Alisson Brazil Roma, Liverpool 2
25 Mario Mandzukic Croatia Juventus 2
25 Jan Oblak Slovenia Atletico Madrid 2
28 Diego Godin Uruguay Atletico Madrid 1
29 Isco Spain Real Madrid 0
29 Hugo Lloris France Tottenham 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Free WordPress Themes - Download High-quality Templates